PET halogen-free flame retardantDedicated to PET fibre · film · engineering plastics · P–N synergistic system
A halogen-free flame retardant developed specifically for polyethylene terephthalate (PET) — added internally to melt into the PET resin system, it markedly improves flame retardancy while having little effect on mechanical or processing properties.
- 🔥 UL94 V-0 · LOI ≥ 38%
- 🧪 Efficient P–N synergistic system
- 📉 Low dosage 1.5% – 5%
- 🌱 Halogen-free · RoHS / REACH
- Limiting oxygen index LOI
- ≥ 0 %
- UL94 rating
- V-0
- Recommended dosage
- 0 – 0 %
- Processing temperature window
- 0 – 0 ℃
Product overview · three P–N synergistic components
Halogen-free (no chlorine, bromine, etc.); switch to see how nitrogen synergy lowers the dosage requirement (illustrative).
Phosphorus compound
Suppresses radical reactions during combustion and forms an intumescent char layer that blocks the transfer of oxygen and heat, while dripping carries surface heat away to achieve flame retardancy.
A small amount of nitrogen compound
Works synergistically with the phosphorus component to enhance flame-retardant efficiency and lower the dosage.
Non-ionic surfactant
Helps the flame-retardant components disperse evenly in the PET resin, preventing agglomeration and ensuring consistent flame-retardant performance.
P–N synergy · dosage requirement comparison (illustrative)
Main performance features
Efficiency, halogen-free, compatibility, retention — four hard targets.
Efficient flame retardancy
At a dosage of 1.5%–5% it brings PET to UL94 V-0 (adjusted by article thickness) and raises LOI to above 38%, effectively inhibiting flame spread and carrying heat away through dripping.
Halogen-free and eco-friendly
Halogen-free; it does not produce toxic hydrogen halide gases when burning, complies with international environmental regulations such as RoHS and REACH, and reduces harm to the environment and human health.
Good compatibility
Excellent compatibility with the molecular structure of PET resin and low migration during melt processing, without affecting PET forming performance (spinning, injection moulding, extrusion, etc.).
Property retention
Little effect on the mechanical properties of PET (tensile strength, impact strength); it maintains the material’s original heat resistance and chemical resistance, ensuring the end-use function of the article.
Applications · how to use · temperature window
Six scenarios across fibre and film; twin-screw extrusion compounding and pelletising, 230–280℃ processing window.

FR apparel fabric
Added internally and melted into PET, then spun into flame-retardant fibre.

Curtain fibre
Flame-retardant household fabric complying with environmental regulations.

Industrial filter media
Flame-retardant modification of industrial filtration media.

FR packaging film
Flame-retardant packaging film with little effect on transparency.

Electrical insulating film
Flame-retardant solution for electrically insulating films.

Decorative panel face
Flame-retardant modification of sheet and decorative panel faces.
Flame retardant + PET chips
During the melt processing stage of the PET resin, mix the flame retardant with the PET chips.
Internal additionTwin-screw extruder
Compound and pelletise through a twin-screw extruder to obtain a flame-retardant masterbatch / compound.
Twin-screw extrusionSpinning · injection · extrusion
PET forming performance is unaffected and the article meets the flame-retardant target.
SpinningInjectionExtrusionProcessing temperature window
Dosage · packing and storage · sample request
Submit the form on the right and a technical consultant will contact you within 24 hours to arrange a sample.
Recommended dosage
Packing and storage
- Wear gloves and a mask when handling;
- Reseal after opening to prevent moisture pick-up that would affect dispersion.
01Product positioning
R912B belongs to the "halogen-free flame retardant" category; its official full name is "PET Halogen-Free Flame Retardant R912B"; it belongs to the flame retardant series (series slogan "halogen-free · transparent · synergistic"). Three core components: a phosphorus-based compound as the main flame-retardant component, together with a small amount of a nitrogen-based synergist and a non-ionic surfactant dispersant. (Data source: product handbook / official product data)
[Product Overview] Verbatim: "This product is a halogen-free flame retardant developed specifically for polyethylene terephthalate (PET) materials; it contains no halogen (chlorine, bromine, etc.) and meets environmental requirements. It is melt-incorporated into the PET resin system by internal addition, significantly improving the flame retardancy of PET materials while having little effect on their mechanical properties and processing properties; suitable for a variety of products such as PET fibers, films, and engineering plastics." (Data source: product handbook / official product data)
The positioning text on the official detail page states: "a halogen-free flame retardant developed specifically for polyethylene terephthalate (PET) — melt-incorporated into the PET resin system by internal addition, significantly improving flame retardancy while having little effect on its mechanical properties and processing properties"; the header reads "exclusive to PET fiber · film · engineering plastics · phosphorus-nitrogen synergistic system". (Data source: official product data)
Relationship to the R912 numbering: no naming explanation for the "B" suffix is found in the materials, nor do the materials place the two grades in the same sentence of relational description; the comparison between this page and R912 is presented throughout solely according to the independent records in the respective technical data sheets of the two products — comparison ≠ an interpretation of the meaning of the suffix. (Data source: product handbook / official product data)
- Halogen-free and environmentally friendly — "contains no halogen; when burned, it does not produce toxic or harmful hydrogen halide gases, and it complies with international environmental regulations such as RoHS and REACH".
- Flame-retardant efficiency — phosphorus-based main component: inhibits free-radical reactions, forms an intumescent char layer that blocks oxygen and heat transfer, and dripping carries away surface heat; a small amount of a nitrogen-based synergist "enhances flame-retardant efficiency and reduces the dosage".
- Property retention — "has little effect on the mechanical properties of PET materials (such as tensile strength and impact strength) and can maintain the material's original heat resistance and chemical resistance".
- Good compatibility — "excellent compatibility with the molecular structure of PET resin; not prone to exuding during melt processing, and does not affect PET's molding performance (such as spinning, injection molding, extrusion, etc.)".
- Clear processing window — recommended processing temperature 230℃-280℃ (20-30℃ lower than conventional PET processing temperature), avoiding the difficulty in molding caused by reduced PET viscosity at high temperatures.
- Rating and oxygen index — at a dosage of 1.5%-5%, PET materials can reach UL94 V-0 rating; the limiting oxygen index (LOI) is raised to above 38%.
02Formulation system & mechanism of action
Core components (three items, verbatim from the materials): ① main flame-retardant component "a phosphorus-based compound as the core, which achieves the flame-retardant effect by inhibiting free-radical reactions during combustion, forming an intumescent char layer that blocks oxygen and heat transfer, and carrying away surface heat through dripping"; ② synergist "a small amount of a nitrogen-based compound, which acts synergistically with the phosphorus-based component to enhance flame-retardant efficiency and reduce the dosage"; ③ dispersing aid "a non-ionic surfactant dispersant, which helps the flame-retardant components disperse uniformly in the PET resin, avoids agglomeration, and ensures consistency of the flame-retardant effect". (Data source: product handbook / official product data)
"Phosphorus-nitrogen synergy" has its direct source in items ①② of the paragraph above: phosphorus is the main mechanism (the three elements of free-radical inhibition + intumescent char layer + molten dripping carrying away heat), and nitrogen provides synergistic enhancement and dosage reduction. The official detail page likewise presents the component card under the theme of "phosphorus-nitrogen synergy"; its "addition requirement comparison" chart is marked in the official text as "schematic, not a measured ratio" — this page reproduces that annotation and does not treat the schematic as data. (Data source: official product data)
A supplementary sentence on flame-retardant performance: "effectively inhibits flame spread and accelerates dripping" — dripping is described in the materials as part of the mechanism; this grade's page does not provide a "dripping type" label, nor does it provide explanations of the kind "what to do if non-dripping is required" (the latter is an entry on other grades' pages and has not been carried over). The official "mechanism of action" field (supplemented on 2026-10-06 according to the product specification): originally a blank value, now recorded as "phosphorus-based + nitrogen-based synergist synergy" (derived from the two items ①② in the preceding paragraph), consistent with the main text of the materials. (Data source: product handbook / official product data)
- Free-radical inhibition — phosphorus-based main componentThe phosphorus-based compound inhibits free-radical reactions during combustion (verbatim core component from the materials).
- Intumescent char layer — blocks oxygen and heatAn intumescent char layer forms during combustion, blocking oxygen and heat transfer (verbatim core component from the materials).
- Molten dripping carries heat — inhibits flame spreadDripping carries away surface heat, "effectively inhibits flame spread and accelerates dripping" (original sentence from the materials).
- Nitrogen-based synergy — enhanced efficiency, reduced dosageA small amount of a nitrogen-based compound acts synergistically with the phosphorus-based component, enhancing flame-retardant efficiency and reducing the dosage; the non-ionic dispersing aid ensures uniform dispersion of the components and avoids agglomeration.
03Key parameters
This grade does not include a separate physical/chemical specification table; the items below are taken verbatim from the source text and official product data (blanks are not filled in, values are not invented). The values in the table are those recorded in the source; before bulk use, small-scale testing with your own PET grade is recommended.
| Item | Value / description |
|---|---|
| Main component | Main flame retardant component: phosphorus-based compounds as the core; synergist: a small amount of nitrogen-based compounds; dispersion aid: non-ionic surfactant dispersant |
| Flame retardant standard (at a dosage of 1.5%-5%) | UL94 V-0 rating |
| Limiting oxygen index (LOI) | raised to above 38% |
| Shelf life | 12 months |
| Packaging | 25 kg bag, PE double-layer bag |
| Processing temperature | Recommended 230℃-280℃ (20-30℃ lower than conventional PET processing temperature) |
| Addition method | During the melt processing stage of the PET resin (e.g., before extrusion or injection molding), mix thoroughly with PET chips, melt-blend in a twin-screw extruder and then pelletize, followed by subsequent shaping processing |
| Compatibility and property retention | Excellent compatibility with PET resin, not prone to migration; little effect on tensile strength and impact strength, maintaining heat resistance and chemical resistance |
| Halogen-free and compliance | Contains no halogen, and does not produce toxic or harmful hydrogen halide gases when burned; complies with RoHS, REACH and other international environmental regulations |
| Handling precautions | Wearing protective gloves and a mask is recommended; avoid direct skin contact or inhalation of dust; keep sealed after opening to prevent moisture absorption from affecting dispersion performance |
Reading notes: ① The flame retardant rating, dosage and article thickness are bound together ("adjusted according to article thickness"); ② This grade's page does not list physical/chemical indicators such as appearance, density, moisture, particle size / fineness, active content — pending supplementation in the source; this page does not fill them in with values from related grades; ③ The values in the table are those recorded in the source; small-scale testing is recommended before bulk use. (Data source: product handbook / official product data)
04Recommended dosage window
Recommended dosage quoted verbatim: 1.5%-5% ("according to the flame retardant rating requirements of the PET article... the optimal ratio can be determined through small-sample testing"), and is bound to the flame retardant rating and article thickness — "at a dosage of 1.5%-5%, the PET material can reach the UL94 V-0 flame retardant standard (adjusted according to article thickness)". The basis of the denominator is not stated in the source.
| Scenario | Dosage | Conditions & notes |
|---|---|---|
| PET articles (per flame retardant rating requirements) | 1.5% – 5% | Source sentence: "According to the flame retardant rating requirements of the PET article, the recommended dosage is 1.5%-5% (the optimal ratio can be determined through small-sample testing)"; bound to the UL94 V-0 rating and article thickness |
Dosage, target rating and article thickness are bound together: at a dosage of 1.5%-5%, UL94 V-0 can be achieved (adjusted according to article thickness). The source does not provide measured points for "thickness × dosage → rating", and this page does not extrapolate; the processing temperature window is given separately as 230℃-280℃ (20-30℃ lower than conventional PET processing temperature).
To be verified: ① The basis of the dosage denominator (relative to resin mass / total system mass) is not stated in the source; ② Measured points (thickness × dosage → rating) are not provided; ③ The above are values recorded in the source; for actual production, please confirm through small-scale testing with your own PET grade and article thickness.
05Applications
The applicable substrate is PET as a single substrate (the source does not extrapolate to PETG / TPU / PE / PP); the handbook's [Scope of Application] is quoted item by item below.
- PET fiber
- Such as flame retardant apparel fabrics, curtain fibers, industrial filter media, etc.
- PET film
- Flame retardant packaging film, electrical insulating film, etc.
- PET sheet
- Decorative panel surfaces, etc.
- Overview scenarios
- "Applicable to PET fibers, films, engineering plastics and various other articles."
- Official scenarios (detail page)
- Flame retardant apparel fabrics / curtain fibers / industrial filter media / flame retardant packaging film / electrical insulating film / decorative panel surfaces.
- Process
- Internal addition via melt blending: mix thoroughly with PET chips, melt-blend in a twin-screw extruder and then pelletize, then shape (spinning, injection molding, extrusion).
Field issues & application examples (as recorded in the source material)
| Field issue | What the source material states |
|---|---|
| Why should the processing temperature be lower than conventional PET? | Source sentence: "The processing temperature is recommended to be controlled at 230℃-280℃ (20-30℃ lower than conventional PET processing temperature), to avoid high temperatures reducing PET viscosity and making it difficult to shape, which affects spinning." |
| Does it affect spinning and article performance? | The source records "does not affect the molding performance of PET (such as spinning, injection molding, extrusion, etc.)"; little effect on tensile strength and impact strength, maintaining heat resistance and chemical resistance. Quantitative data is not provided in the source, and this page does not extrapolate. |
| Can transparency be maintained when used in packaging film? | Two accounts coexist: the source text does not include a transparency statement; the official detail page scenario card states "packaging film is flame retardant, with little effect on transparency". The two are presented side by side; for scenarios with high transparency requirements, small-scale comparative testing is recommended first. |
| What is the relationship with R912? | The source does not explain the meaning of the "B" suffix, nor does it make any version / derivative / upgrade-type statement. The differences between the two grades are presented according to the independent records in their respective technical data sheets: R912B is PET single substrate, 1.5%-5%, UL94 V-0 / LOI ≥38%; R912 covers PET / PETG / TPU, tiered by substrate. The values are independent of each other and are not interchanged. |
06How it differs from related grades
Within-series comparison of the flame retardant range: substrate first, then grade; R912B and R912 differ by only one suffix, and the comparison of the two grades is based solely on the independent entries in their respective technical data sheets (comparison ≠ an interpretation of the suffix meaning).
| Grade | Positioning · Substrate | System | Dosage | Grade · Processing window |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| R912B | PET halogen-free flame retardant · PET | Phosphorus-based + small amount of nitrogen-based synergist + non-ionic dispersing aid | 1.5%-5% (tied to V-0 grade and thickness) | UL94 V-0; LOI raised to above 38%; 230℃-280℃ |
| R912 | Transparent halogen-free flame retardant · PET / PETG / TPU | Organophosphorus lithium salt system (tris(lithium xylyl carbonate) phosphate) | TPU 2%–7%; PETG / PET 1.5%–3% each | UL94 V-2 / V-0; light transmittance loss of approx. 20% |
| R911 | Halogen-free flame retardant · thin PE articles | Hindered amine + non-ionic dispersant | 10%-20% | UL94 V-2 (film type) / FV-2; 150-200℃ |
| R915 | Transparent halogen-free flame retardant · PET / PETG | Polyol phosphate ester (phosphorus content 18%) | V-2 (1.5mm) 1%–2% / V-0 (1.0–1.5mm) 2%–4% | UL94 V-2 / V-0; thermal decomposition ≥260℃, melting point 210℃ |
| R940 | Reactive halogen-free flame retardant · UV / PU | DOPO + phosphazene + HEMA (must participate in polymerization/crosslinking) | UV 15-30% / PU 12-25% (denominator stated separately for each) | Reactive; liquid system |
Reading notes: (1) R218 belongs to the "flame retardant synergist" category (partial replacement for antimony trioxide) and is not included in this table; (2) the comparison of R912B and R912 offers no interpretation of the suffix and states no version relationship; (3) the values in each row come from that grade's own documentation and are not cross-applied to other grades. (Data source: product handbook / official product data)
07Usage & storage
The following points are taken item by item from the documentation; items not listed in the documentation are not drafted on the product's behalf.
Dosage
- Recommended addition level: 1.5%-5% (according to the flame retardant grade required for the PET article; the optimal ratio can be determined by small-sample testing).
- Tied to grade: at an addition level of 1.5%-5%, UL94 V-0 can be achieved (adjusted according to article thickness).
- The denominator basis is not specified in the documentation and is not drafted on the product's behalf.
Feeding and processing
- Internal addition by melt blending: mix thoroughly with PET chips, blend in a twin-screw extruder, then pelletize, then shape.
- Processing temperature: 230℃-280℃ (20-30℃ lower than conventional PET processing temperature); avoid high temperatures that reduce viscosity and affect spinning.
Packaging and storage
- Packaging: 25 kg bag packaging, PE double-layer bag.
- Storage: in a cool, dry, ventilated place, away from direct sunlight and moisture; shelf life 12 months.
Handling notes
- Wear protective gloves and a mask; avoid direct skin contact or inhalation of dust; after opening, keep sealed to prevent moisture absorption that could affect dispersion performance.
08FAQ
What is the difference between R912B and R912?
The documentation does not explain the "B" suffix. The differences between the two grades are presented according to the independent entries in their respective technical data sheets: substrate (PET only / PET / PETG / TPU), system (phosphorus-based + nitrogen synergist / organophosphorus lithium salt), grade and oxygen index (V-0 + LOI ≥38% / V-2·V-0, LOI value not given), dosage (1.5%-5% / tiered by substrate), etc. A comparison does not equal an interpretation of the suffix meaning.
Why is the processing temperature 20-30℃ lower than conventional PET?
Original wording from the documentation: "The recommended processing temperature should be controlled at 230℃-280℃ (20-30℃ lower than the conventional PET processing temperature), to avoid high temperatures causing a decrease in PET viscosity that makes molding difficult and affects spinning."
The documentation only states PET—can it be used in PETG or TPU?
No extrapolation. The documentation only states PET; this page does not extrapolate to PETG / TPU / PE / PP systems on the basis of "both being halogen-free flame retardants." For other substrates, please request the documentation for the corresponding grade separately.
Does it affect transparency?
Two statements coexist: the main body of the documentation does not list any transparency statement; the official detail page scenario card states "flame retardant for packaging films, with little effect on transparency." Both are presented side by side; quantitative data (light transmittance / haze) is not given in the documentation, and for high-transparency requirements a small-scale trial comparison is recommended.
What denominator is the dosage calculated on?
The documentation does not specify the denominator basis (relative to resin mass / total system mass); this page transcribes the range as given and does not draft a denominator on the product's behalf. It is recommended to confirm the formulation basis with the supplier and then determine the optimal ratio by small-sample testing.
What are the packaging and storage conditions?
Packaging: 25 kg bag packaging, PE double-layer bag; store in a cool, dry, ventilated place, away from direct sunlight and moisture; shelf life 12 months. (Data source: product handbook / official product data)
AppendixData sources
The data on this page come from two types of documentation, traceable item by item:
- Product handbook: the full sections of this grade's technical data sheet (product overview / core components / main performance characteristics / scope of application / instructions for use / storage and precautions / packaging).
- Official product data: all fields for this grade (name, category, description, application, parameters, main components, recommended dosage); flame retardant range entries; official detail page copy.
Not covered by the source material (not written on this page — to be added later)
- The meaning of the "B" suffix naming and its relationship to the two grades: not explained in the documentation; this page has stated it faithfully as "not clearly distinguished in the documentation."
- Missing items in the physicochemical specification table: appearance, density, moisture, particle size / fineness, active content—no specification table is attached to this grade's page.
- The denominator basis for the addition level (relative to resin mass / total system mass) is not stated in the documentation; measured data points (thickness × addition level → grade) are not given.
- Evidence for the flame retardant grade (test bars, thickness, testing institution, report number), LOI test method, halogen content threshold and test report — not given in the documentation.
- The transparency statement (not listed in the main body of the documentation / detail page scenario card "little effect on transparency") is pending a decision on the product side; quantitative data is not given.
- The quantitative data retained for mechanical / heat resistance / chemical resistance properties, and the test method and criteria for "not easily migrating" — not given in the documentation.
- How the shelf life is counted from and the period of validity after opening — not given in the documentation and not drafted on the product's behalf.