Thermal insulation agent for agricultural greenhouse filmFar-infrared blocking agent · nano silica + metal-salt emulsified silicone
It has special optical properties that ordinary SiO₂ does not: very strong UV absorption and infrared reflection; the porous structure of nano silica forms cavities inside the film, giving a dual thermal-insulation and heat-shielding effect.
Spectrum film comparison: UV absorption · visible transmission · infrared reflection
Toggle: without R66 the film lets UV and IR straight through; with R66 the UV is absorbed, the visible passes and the IR is reflected, while cavities inside the greenhouse store heat.
UV absorption + infrared reflection
The compound of nano silica and metal-salt emulsified silicone has special optical properties that ordinary SiO₂ lacks: for wavelengths below 400nm the UV absorption reaches over 70%, and beyond 800nm—1300nm the infrared reflection also reaches over 70% (measured with a UV-Vis spectrophotometer).
Cavities in the film = thermal insulation and heat shielding
The porous structure of nano silica forms cavities inside the film, achieving a dual thermal insulation and heat shielding effect.
Nano SiO₂ × metal-salt emulsified silicone
The main component is a silicon compound: a composite system of nano silica and metal-salt emulsified silicone, with an SiO₂ content (after ignition) of > 30 Wt%.
Main composition and physical properties
Main component: a silicon compound; a COA test report accompanies every batch.
Dosage · packing and storage · sample request
Submit the form and a technical consultant will contact you within 24 hours to arrange a sample.
Dosage and packing specification
01Product positioning
R66 belongs to the thermal insulation agent category (official English category name Thermal Insulation); it is a plastic internal-additive, film-oriented spectral-control thermal insulation additive. The data page title is written as "Agricultural greenhouse film thermal insulation agent (far-infrared shielding agent)", while the catalog line and official full name are "Plastic internal-additive thermal insulation agent (far-infrared reflective agent)"; the body text uses the official name as the primary designation and notes the wording at each layer. (Data source: product handbook / official product data)
Overview verbatim: "The agricultural greenhouse film thermal insulation agent is a compound made with nano-silica and metal-salt-emulsified silicone. It has special optical properties that conventional SiO2 does not possess; it has extremely strong UV absorption and infrared reflection characteristics. Testing with a UV-visible spectrophotometer shows that its absorption rate for UV light within a wavelength of 400nm reaches as high as above 70%, and its reflection rate for infrared light outside the wavelength range of 800nm—1300nm also reaches above 70%; it uses the porous structure properties of nano-silica to form cavities within the film, achieving the dual effect of thermal insulation." (Data source: product handbook / official product data)
Three action paths: 1. Optical layer——UV absorption (≤400nm, ≥70%) and infrared reflection (≥800nm, ≥70%); 2. Structural layer——the porous structure of nano-silica forms cavities within the film, storing heat and insulating; 3. Composition layer——a composite system of nano-silica and metal-salt-emulsified silicone. The detection method layer is recorded as "tested with a UV-visible spectrophotometer". (Data source: product handbook / official product data)
This grade is not on the halogen-free model list, and its own data contains no halogen content statement whatsoever——the page does not write compliance wording in the halogen direction (neither of the two compliance words is written). This product does not involve fluorine. The "halogen-free flame retardant" labels for other models in the list sentence of the same paragraph are the system descriptions of those models and are unrelated to this model. (Data source: product handbook / official product data)
- UV absorption——"its absorption rate for UV light within a wavelength of 400nm reaches as high as above 70%" (official specification field wording "≥ 70%").
- Infrared reflection——"its reflection rate for infrared light outside the wavelength range of 800nm—1300nm also reaches above 70%"; the official specification field wording is "(≥ 800nm)" and the page coordinate layer wording is "800–1300nm"; the three wordings coexist and are transcribed layer by layer.
- Cavity heat storage——"uses the porous structure properties of nano-silica to form cavities within the film, achieving the dual effect of thermal insulation"; the page expressions are "nano-porous cavities · heat storage and insulation" and "in-shed cavity heat storage and insulation".
- Composite system——main component "silicon compound": nano-silica + metal-salt-emulsified silicone; SiO₂ content (after ignition) > 30 Wt%.
- Spectral comparison reading (page qualitative expression)——without R66, the film lets all UV and infrared pass through; with R66, the film absorbs UV, transmits visible light, and reflects infrared, with in-shed cavity heat storage and insulation. The curve is a qualitative illustration, not measured values.
- Documents shipped with goods——the page notes "a COA test report is included with each batch".
02Formulation system & mechanism of action
Optical mechanism: this product "has special optical properties that conventional SiO2 does not possess"——its absorption rate for UV light within 400nm and its reflection rate for infrared light outside 800nm—1300nm both reach above 70%, and the test method is recorded as UV-visible spectrophotometer. The data simultaneously gives two wavelength-range wordings, "outside 800nm—1300nm" (handbook) and "(≥ 800nm)" (official specification field), which this page transcribes side by side. (Data source: product handbook / official product data)
Structural mechanism: using the porous structure properties of nano-silica, cavities are formed within the film——the cavities store heat and insulate, combining with the UV absorption and infrared reflection of the optical layer to produce the "dual effect of thermal insulation". The page expresses this process as "in-film cavities = thermal insulation". (Data source: product handbook / official product data)
Composition and process: the composite system consists of nano-silica (porous structure) and metal-salt-emulsified silicone; the appearance is a white powder. The data does not give spectral curve values, the relationship between film thickness and reflectivity, the spectral retention rate after aging, or field or in-shed measured data——this page does not draft or infer any. (Data source: product handbook / official product data)
- OPTICS —— Special optical propertiesUV absorption (≤400nm, ≥70%) + infrared reflection (≥800nm, ≥70%); "has special optical properties that conventional SiO2 does not possess".
- CAVITY —— Nano-porous cavitiesUses the porous structure properties of nano-silica to form cavities within the film, achieving the dual effect of thermal insulation.
- COMPOUND —— Composite systemNano-silica × metal-salt-emulsified silicone; the main component field is recorded as "silicon compound", and the appearance is a white powder.
- IN-FILM —— Internal additive, effective within the filmInternal-additive type: added during film processing and effective within the film. The data does not give the specific processing procedure or temperature window, and this page does not draft any.
03Key parameters
The indicators recorded in the product handbook [Physical Properties] and the official specification fields are as follows (values written differently for the same figure are reproduced layer by layer as written, not cross-corrected). The values in the table are as recorded in the source materials; before batch use, it is recommended to conduct small-scale trials with your own film system for verification.
| Item | Value / description |
|---|---|
| Main component | Silicon compound |
| Appearance | White powder |
| Specific surface area | 180 ±25 m²/g |
| Bulk density | approx. 360 g/L |
| Moisture content (105°C/2h) | < 3 Wt% |
| pH (4% dispersion) | 5-7 |
| SiO content (after ignition) | > 30 Wt% |
| Loss on ignition | < 71 Wt% |
| UV absorption (≤ 400nm) | ≥ 70% |
| Infrared reflection (≥ 800nm) | ≥ 70% |
| Spectral characteristics note | Possesses special optical properties not found in conventional SiO₂: UV absorption + infrared reflection |
| Specific surface area footnote (official) | The original table writes the specific surface area as "180 + 25 m²/g", interpreted per industry convention as 180 ± 25 m²/g |
Reading note: (1) Three optical band notations coexist — handbook "outside 800 nm—1300 nm", official specification field "(≥ 800 nm)", page coordinate layer "800–1300 nm"; this page presents them side by side and does not choose one over the other; (2) "180 +25M2/g" (as written within the handbook page) and "180 ±25 m²/g" (official interpretation) coexist; (3) The test method / test conditions / standard number of the indicator are not listed in the source materials; "70% or above" has no experimental conditions or test method description. (Data source: product handbook / official product data)
04Recommended dosage window
The dosage follows a single basis: the denominator is the plastic final product, range 0.5%—1%; the source materials provide no substrate grading. The page scale bar is written as "Recommended addition (plastic final product · 0 – 2% scale)".
| Scenario | Dosage | Conditions & notes |
|---|---|---|
| Addition in the plastic final product | 0.5% — 1% | Handbook [Addition Content] and official dosage field are identical in wording (denominator: plastic final product) |
| Substrate grading | Not stated in source materials | This grade has no substrate grading (unlike some grades that give polyethylene / polyolefin grading); this page records it faithfully and does not draft on its own |
| Heat-retention years / shelf-life basis | Not stated in source materials | The source materials give no shelf-life wording of the heat-retention-years type; "70% or above" is a value as recorded in the source materials, with no experimental conditions described |
Denominator note: this grade has only one denominator basis — the plastic final product (i.e., the finished film article as a whole), not masterbatch, not powder, not resin raw material. Thickness-direction clause: none for this grade (a search across all sources for "thickness / thinner" returns no records concerning this grade); no directional wording is written and no other grade's directional clause is applied.
To be verified: (1) The subdivision of the 0.5%—1% addition level and verification of the upper limit — not provided in the source materials. (2) Feeding method: internal addition type (added during film processing, effective within the film); the specific processing steps and temperature window are not provided in the source materials. (3) Dosage values are strictly isolated from those of R800 / R800F / R880 and must not be transferred between them (for reference: R800 direct addition 1%-5%, R800F 0.5%-5%, R880 final article 0.2%-1.0%). (4) All of the above are values as recorded in the source materials; for actual production, please conduct small-scale trials with your film system for confirmation.
05Applications
The official application list is agricultural greenhouse film, insulation film, heat-insulating plastics; the page's article-form options include agricultural greenhouse film / greenhouse film, thermal insulation film, far-infrared shielding functional film, and other film articles. Item by item as follows:
- Agricultural greenhouse film / greenhouse film
- The primary scenario for this grade: spectral control (UV absorption + infrared reflection) and cavity heat storage jointly serve in-greenhouse heat retention.
- Insulation film / heat-insulating plastics
- Listed in the official application list; the source materials provide no comparative data on specific materials and structures.
- Far-infrared shielding functional film
- Listed in the page's article-form options; corresponds to the handbook page title wording "far-infrared shielding agent".
- Other film articles
- Listed in the page's article-form options; for the specific system, please conduct small-scale trials in combination with the process for confirmation.
- User-perceived effects (qualitative wording on the page)
- Films without R66 transmit both UV and infrared fully; films containing R66 absorb UV, transmit visible light, and reflect infrared, with cavity heat storage retaining heat inside the greenhouse. The curves are qualitative schematic-layer wording, not measured values.
- Boundary note
- This grade and adjacent grades in the same series (anti-fog direction, compatibility direction) are independent of one another — different directions are not interchangeable, different denominators are not cross-converted, and different forms mean the feeding varies with the grade; values are not copied between them.
Field issues & application examples (as recorded in the source material)
| Field issue | What the source material states |
|---|---|
| How is nighttime heat retention inside the greenhouse achieved? | The source materials give a combination of two paths: the optical layer — UV absorption + infrared reflection (each 70% or above); the structural layer — the porous structure of nano-silica forms cavities within the film for heat storage and retention. Together they constitute a "dual heat-retention and insulation effect". |
| Does a film with R66 added affect visible light transmission? | The page's qualitative wording is "UV absorbed, visible transmitted, infrared reflected". The source materials give no specific transmittance value for the visible band; this page makes no quantitative statement. |
| On what basis is the dosage given? | 0.5%—1% of the plastic final product (the denominator being the finished film article as a whole); the source materials provide no substrate grading. Note that the dosage is not interchangeable with those of adjacent functional directions such as anti-fog and compatibility. |
| Are there test conditions for "70% or above"? | The test method recorded in the source materials is a UV-visible spectrophotometer; however, the experimental conditions, test method, and standard number are not listed, and there are no spectral curve values. This page reproduces the recorded value of 70% or above as-is and adds no quantitative commitment. |
06How it differs from related grades
This grade and the three adjacent grades in the same series (two in the anti-fog direction, one in the compatibilization direction) are independent of one another; this table only delineates boundaries and does not serve as a performance-equivalence comparison.
| Dimension | R66 (this grade) | R800 | R800F | R880 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Category field | Thermal insulation agent | Anti-fog agent | Anti-fog agent | Compatibilizer |
| Functional direction | UV absorption + IR reflection + intra-film cavity thermal insulation | Surface hydrophilic orientation → anti-fog and anti-drip | Same (fast-acting anti-fog direction) | Interfacial compatibility / graft modification |
| Main components | Silicon compound (nano-silica + metal-salt-emulsified organosilicon) | Saw palmetto fatty acid and polyglyceryl cocoamide polymer | Sorbitol ester | Maleic anhydride, polyol |
| Appearance | White powder | White or slightly yellow waxy granules | White or slightly yellow powder | Light yellow liquid |
| Dosage basis | 0.5%—1% of the final plastic product (no substrate-based tiers) | Direct addition 1%-5% (substrate-based tiers separately provided) | Direct addition 0.5%-5% (substrate-based tiers separately provided) | Final article 0.2% - 1.0% |
Reading note: (1) Different directions are not interchangeable—thermal insulation (spectrum and cavities), anti-fog and anti-drip (surface hydrophilic), and interfacial compatibility (graft blending) are three distinct mechanisms; (2) Different denominators are not mutually convertible; (3) In this table, the values for the comparison grades are the original text of their respective pages and must not be transferred to this grade; (4) The list sentences in the same paragraph are column juxtaposition and do not constitute a product relationship. (Data source: product handbook / official product data)
07Usage & storage
The following points are drawn item by item from the documented records; items not listed in the documentation are not drafted on our own.
Usage positioning
- Internal-additive type: added during film processing and acts within the film ("forms cavities within the film").
- The specific processing steps and temperature window are not provided in the documentation—not drafted on our own, and the windows of other grades are not applied.
- Compatibility notes (compatibility with other additives) are not listed on this grade's page—recorded as is.
Dosage and basis
- Addition content: 0.5%—1% of the final plastic product (the handbook entry and the official field have the same value).
- Single denominator (final plastic product), no substrate-based tiers; no thickness-dosage direction clause.
Packaging and storage
- Packaging: 10kg/bag.
- Storage conditions: cool, dry place.
- Documents supplied with shipment: the page states that a COA test report is supplied with each batch.
Not documented (not drafted on this page)
- Shelf life, transport terms, safety data (MSDS-type), processing window (no melting point / flash point / thermal decomposition temperature / temperature adaptation range)—none are listed in the documentation.
- Spectral curve values, film thickness–reflectivity relationship, spectral retention after aging, field or in-greenhouse measured data—not provided in the documentation.
08FAQ
How is R66's thermal insulation achieved?
Three paths combine: UV absorption (within 400nm, above 70%) + IR reflection (outside 800nm—1300nm, above 70%) + the nanoporous structure of nano-silica forming cavities within the film to store heat and insulate—the documentation calls it "a dual thermal insulation effect".
Are there specific values for its UV and IR effects?
The documented values are "absorption rate up to 70% or more" and "reflectance also reaching 70% or more", and the official specification field is worded "≥ 70%". The documentation does not provide spectral curve values or a description of the experimental conditions, and this page does not add further quantitative statements.
Can it be used interchangeably with anti-fog agents and compatibilizers?
No. The three are different functional directions (thermal insulation / anti-fog and anti-drip / interfacial compatibility), and their mechanisms, denominators, and forms all differ from one another; the documentation establishes no substitution or upgrade relationship. Grade selection corresponds separately by functional direction.
Does it belong to a halogen-free system?
The documentation for this grade contains no statement of halogen content, and it is not on the halogen-free model list—the page does not provide compliance statements regarding halogen. When halogen-compliant products are required, please select separately according to the corresponding model catalog of the flame retardant series.
What is the dosage? Does it need to be divided by substrate?
0.5%—1% of the final plastic product; the documentation provides no substrate-based tiers. The denominator is the final film article as a whole—do not calculate on a mixed basis with masterbatch, powder, or resin raw material.
Packaging, storage, and shelf life?
Packaging 10kg/bag; store in a cool, dry place; a COA test report is supplied with each batch (as stated on the page). Shelf life is not listed in the documentation, and this page does not draft it on our own.
AppendixData sources
The data on this page come from two types of documentation and can be traced item by item:
- Product handbook: the full text of this grade's technical data page (overview / main components / physical property indicators / addition amount / packaging / storage conditions); the list sentence in the company profile; the identical technical data page in the comprehensive series booklet (cross-verified across multiple booklets).
- Official product data: all fields for this grade (name, category, positioning, description, mechanism, application, nine specification items, main components, recommended dosage); page-level copy (spectral film comparison, article form options, scenario terms).
Not covered by the source material (not written on this page — to be added later)
- Four layers of naming coexist (the wording "shielding" and "reflection", and "plastic" and "plastic film", in the technical data page / catalog line / list heading / company profile sentence)—recorded layer by layer as is; it is recommended to align the terminology before publication.
- Three ways of writing the optical band coexist, and the original wording of specific surface area and the official interpretation coexist—recorded layer by layer as is, without choosing one over the other.
- Dedicated experimental data tables / spectral curve values, film thickness–reflectivity relationship, spectral retention after aging, in-greenhouse measured data—not provided in the documentation.
- Shelf life, processing window, compatibility notes, safety data (MSDS-type)—not listed in the documentation.